Wine Finder:

The Islands of Spain | Wine Region

The Islands of Spain | Wine Region

Away from the Spanish mainland, Spain also has two wine producing groups of islands, the Balearic Islands and The Canaries.  The Balearic Islands is a single province region consisting of the islands of Majorca, Menorca, Ibiza and Formentera as well as other small islands. The Region is located in the Mediterranean Sea, to the east of the Iberian Peninsula. The capital city is Palma de Mallorca. The area's winemaking tradition is protected by two Designations of Origin: Binissalem-Mallorca and Pla i Llevant. Quality wines are also produced in small wineries on the islands of Ibiza, Formentera and Menorca.

The Canary Islands is located off the north coast of Africa, bathed by the Atlantic Ocean. This Autonomous Community includes seven main islands: Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro. The islands remain phylloxera–free, and so grapes that may exist nowhere else still survive here and amongst which include: Listán Negro, Negramoll, Tintilla (red grapes) and Malvasía, Listán Blanco and Albillo (whites) among others.



Browse Wine Producers


Browse Wines

3 Wines